Police Committee

The Court of Common Council is the Police Authority for the Square Mile as set out in the City of London Police Act 1839. Under Section 56 of the Act, the Common Council delegated to the Police Committee all of its police authority functions (with the exception of the appointment of the Commissioner). The Committee’s role is to make sure the City of London Police runs an effective and efficient service by holding the Commissioner to account; to ensure value for money in the way the police is run, and to set policing priorities taking into account the views of the community.


  • Deputy Douglas Barrow (Chairman)
  • Deputy James Thomson (Deputy Chairman)
  • Alderman Ian Luder
  • Alderman Alison Gowman
  • Nicholas Bensted-Smith
  • Deputy Henry Pollard
  • Lucy Sandford
  • Deputy Keith Bottomley
  • Simon Duckworth
  • Emma Edhem
  • Andrew Lentin
  • Christopher Hayward